World Number 1 Alcaraz ruled out of ATP Finals and Davis Cup

0
25

Alcaraz has been ruled out of the ATP Finals and Davis Cup on account of a stomach muscle injury. The Spanish teenager, who won his maiden Grand Slam with victory at the US Open this year, was forced out of his clash with Holger Rune at the Paris Masters.

He was sent for scans on the injury, and Alcaraz confirmed the disappointing news on social media on Saturday.

Writing on Twitter, Alcaraz said: “After my withdrawal yesterday and having been evaluated by my medical team, Dr. Juanjo Lopez and Juanjo Moreno, unfortunately this is the result of my injury: an internal oblique muscle tear in the left abdominal wall with an estimated recovery time of six weeks.”

He added that the injury would sideline him for six weeks, ending his season and ruling him out of the ATP Finals and Davis Cup.

“Unfortunately, I won’t make the ATP Finals or the Davis Cup Finals,” Alcaraz said. “It is tough and painful for me to miss these two events, which are so important to me, but all I can do is be positive and focus on my recovery.

“Thank you for the support!”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here